WSUV names 2006-2009 advisory council

Washington State University Vancouver recently named members of the 2006-2009 advisory council, a team of community leaders and representatives of public and private organizations that will advise WSU President V. Lane Rawlins and Chancellor Hal Dengerink on academic, research and community issues relevant to the campus.

The council includes:

• Tony Bacon, publisher of The Insider

• Twyla Barnes, superintendent of Educational Service District 112

• Bill Barron, Clark County administrator

• Gerald Baugh, manager of business development for the city of Vancouver

• Jon Clemens, Sharp Laboratories of America

• Jeanne Firstenburg, senior vice present and chief operations officer of First Independent Bank

• Glenys Hill, superintendent of the Kelso School District

• Stephen Horenstein, attorney with Miller Nash

• Kathy Kniep, executive director of the YWCA of Clark County

• Joe Kortum, president and chief executive officer of Southwest Washington Medical Center

• James McLaughlin, president of Lower Columbia College

• Dr. Lisa Morrison, Vancouver Clinic

• Val Ogden, retired state representative

• Bart Phillips, president of the Columbia River Economic Development Council

• Beth Quartarolo, president and CEO of the Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce

• Dr. Carl Schneiderman, director of research services at the Legacy Clinical Research and Technology Center

• Rhona Sen Hoss, director of community partnerships for The Columbian

• Ted Sprague, president of the Cowlitz County Economic Development Council

• John White, president of the JD White Co.

It is the first time on the council for Kniep, Kortum and Quartarolo. Rep. Bill Fromhold, Sen. Craig Pridemore and Mike Worthy, president and CEO of the Bank of Clark County and member of the Higher Education Coordinating Board, all were renewed as the council’s ex-officio members.

The advisory council members are recommended by the chancellor and formally appointed by the WSU president for three-year renewable terms.

Horenstein chairs the council, which meets monthly during the academic year.

The council advises the chancellor regarding the community’s needs and preferences for university activities and programs, particularly as they relate to economic and socio-cultural development of the community.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.